Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. h.c. Thomas Luhmann

Institute Board Member
Professor for Photogrammetry

tel: +49 (0) 441 - 7708 - 3172
room: G 212

Curriculum Vitae

1977-1983: Studies of Geodesy, University of Hanover
Diploma thesis: „Investigation of the relationship between geometric resolution and information content of digitised aerial photographs of mudflats“
1983-1984: Scientific researcher, SFB 149, University of Hanover
Topics: Remote sensing, Digital image processing
1984-1988: Scientific assistent, Institute for Photogrammetry and Engineering Surveys, University of Hanover
Topics: Digital close-range photogrammetry
1988 PhD, Dr.-Ing. (summa cum laude): "A high-resolution digital image measuring system"
1988-1993: Project manager and Head of R&D Photogrammetry Kern Aarau / Leica, Switzerland
since 1993: Professor for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, University of Applied Sciences Oldenburg
1993 - 2000: Head of working groups "Close-range Photogrammetry" of the German Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (DGPF)
1996: Foundation and Director of the Institut for Applied Photogrammetry and Geoinformatics (IAPG)
1996 - 2004: Initiator and Head of VDI/DGPF working group 3.32 "Optical 3D Measuring Systems"
1997 - 2002: Head of Reseach Group " Space-Pipe-Soil" - Spatial measuring methods for quality assurance in pipeline construction
since 2000: Textbook "Nahbereichsphotogrammetrie" (4th ed. 2018), English and Russian translations
2000: Co-founder of spin-off company AXIOS 3D Services GmbH, Oldenburg
2000 - 2004: Vice-President of the German Society for Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Geoinformation (DGPF)
2000 - 2022: Co-Chairman and Chairman of ISPRS Working Groups "Automation for Vision Metrology Systems" resp. “Vision Metrology”
since 2002: Annual organisation of Oldenburg 3D Days
2004 – 2008: President of the German Society for Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Geoinformation (DGPF)
2005 - 2010: Head of Reseach Group "Dynamic optical 3D metrology"
2010: Habilitation in Photogrammetry at TU Dresden: "Advanced methods for geometric camera calibration in close-range photogrammetry"
since 2011: Annual research visits and guest lectures in the Ukraine
2012 - 2018: Research professorship of Lower Saxony
2016: Honoray Doctor from Kiev National yUniversity for Construction and Architecture, Ukraine
2021: Foundation of the Steinbeis Transfer Centre "Photogrammetry and Optical 3D Metrology"
2023 Official retirement on Sep 1, 2023




  • Photogrammetry I, II
  • Digital image processing
  • Remote sensing
  • International project Photogrammetry and Laserscanning (Kiev)
  • Photogrammetric information processing
  • Master projects



Research topics

  • Close-range photogrammetry
  • Camera modelling and calibration
  • Underwater photogrammetry
  • UAV photogrammetry
  • Dynamic photogrammetry
  • Digital image analysis and matching
  • Industrial and medical applications
  • Monte-Carlo simulation





  • 1995 Hansa-Luftbild Award of DGPF
  • 2000 -Ing.-Siegfried-Werth Award
  • 2002 rank in "Cooperation competition of Lower Saxony"
  • 2010 Karl-Kraus Medal of ISPRS
  • 2011 Science Award of Lower Saxony
  • 2016 ISPRS CATCOM, 1. rank for best software in education for program PhoX
  • 2017 rank for Lower Saxony Innovation Award
  • 2018 Hansa-Luftbild Award of DGPF (Co-Author)
  • 2020 Meydenbauer Medal of DGPF
  • 2022 ISPRS CATCOM, 1. rank for best software in education for program VRscan3D
  • 2023 USGS Medal. Ukrainian Society of Geodesy and Cartography


Reviewer for Research Grants (selection)

  • BMBF resrach programs FHprofUnd and others
  • German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Reviews for diverse international journals (selection)

  • Photogrammetrie-Fernerkundung-Geoinformation
  • Allgemeine Vermessungs-Nachrichten (Editorial Board)
  • ISPRS Journal for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing
  • Photogrammetric Journal of Finland
  • The Photogrammetric Record
  • Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing
  • EARSeL eProceedings
  • Automation in Construction
  • Experimental Techniques
  • Sensors
  • Remote Sensing

Administration and university activities

  • Representative for technology transfer, campus Oldenburg, 1996-2010
  • Director of IAPG 1996-2022
  • Member of faculty council 1994-1998
  • Member of senate 1998-2015, 2020-2023
  • Member of research commission
  • Member of and head of different appointment commissions
  • Ombudsperson for ethics in research 2006-2022
  • Member of working group for internationalisation 2015-2023
  • DFG ombuds person 2010-2021